Film Reviews: “Barney’s Version” (2010)

Image

Starring Paul Giamatti, Dustin Hoffman, and Rosamund Pike.

65 year old Barney Panofsky (Giamatti) reflects back on all of the mistakes, and great times of his life, including private moments with his father, possibly accidentally killing his best friend, and the relationship with the love of his life Miriam. Giamatti carries decades of emotional weight on his shoulders and delivers flawlessly. While I didn’t always agree with Barney’s actions or temperament, I found myself identifying with the heart of the character, and thinking about my own life in the process. At age 65 what will I look back on? What will I miss, and hope that I could change?

I loved this film. Even with a running time of 2 hours 10 minutes I didn’t want it to end. “Barney’s Version” is a quality piece of cinema. I highly recommend it!
4.0 out of 4.0 stars.

Leave a Reply

